Media

Hi

I just wanted to share a personal experience.  Today I had to get a pink slip for my car.  While I was at the mechanic a man walked in.  He was dressed in a long black robe had a long beard and was obviously Muslim.  My first thought was to go to the bathroom with my son and wait in there for a while.  I kept watching the guy and he kept reaching into his pocket.  I thought he was going to pull out a gun.  I was looking around for places to hide and was thinking of ways I could keep my son very quite. My son had none of the same preconceptions about this person and smiled and said “Hi” to him.  Guess what he smiled and said “Hi” back and left the shop.

I thought about my reaction and thought about why I reacted this way.  My reaction is a result of how the media portrays Muslims.The media last week reported a shooting in Parramatta a bomb scare at Penrith Plaza both of which are near where i live.  If Australians are going to accept Muslims from Syria the media need to report some positive things about them.

Kim

Leave a comment